- -
UserInfo

Welcome Anonymous




Membership:
Latest: Rsanter
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 2
Overall: 901

People Online:
Members: 1
Visitors: 4
Bots: 13
Total: 18
Who Is Where:
Members:
Visitors:
01. Forums
02. News
03. Forums
04. Forums
 Bots:
01. Forums
02. Forums
03. Forums
04. Forums
05. Forums
06. Forums
07. News
08. Forums
09. Forums
10. Forums
11. Forums
12. Login
13. Forums
Hidden: 1
Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
We have received
34855966
page views since
July 27, 2010

Hits New Today: 6708
Hits New Yesterday: 12249

Server Time
22 February 2018 12:32:15 AEDT (GMT +11)
Mustang Technical Discussion > Mustang Projects > Operation Megasquirt! > Community Forums > Mustang Forum Australia - Mustang Tech

View posts since last visitView posts last 24 hoursView unanswered posts
Forum Index > Mustang Projects

Operation Megasquirt! Reply to topic

Go to page Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
hybrid
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Posts: 8554

0 👍 / 0 👎


If you are using MSD, then it will control the coil now, so you do not need a 12V feed.

If you are not using MSD, then you still need to send a 12V feed to the coil, which is probably what the AAW coil wire is.

If you used the AAW kit to wire up the tacho, then you will need to use it's wire on the coil end too (or on the MSD tach output if using MSD).


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


hybrid wrote
If you are using MSD, then it will control the coil now, so you do not need a 12V feed.

If you are not using MSD, then you still need to send a 12V feed to the coil, which is probably what the AAW coil wire is.

If you used the AAW kit to wire up the tacho, then you will need to use it's wire on the coil end too (or on the MSD tach output if using MSD).


ahhh ok .. yes ill be using an msd or crane ignition box .. i forgot about that..


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
boofhead
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 4505
Location: Brisbane

0 👍 / 0 👎


He he - working to hard you forget your ignition box in plan. As stated Tach goes from the ignition box so does the coil 12V and Ground wires. Trigger wire goes to Ignition box from relay board. Your choice to run the (affectively) switched 12V from the Fuel pump output on the relay box to the Ignition box. No point powering the ignition box unless the fuel pump is running (which is switched on by the MS). Not important just a thought.


I will someday think of something clever to say.

View user's profile
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


boofhead wrote
He he - working to hard you forget your ignition box in plan. As stated Tach goes from the ignition box so does the coil 12V and Ground wires. Trigger wire goes to Ignition box from relay board. Your choice to run the (affectively) switched 12V from the Fuel pump output on the relay box to the Ignition box. No point powering the ignition box unless the fuel pump is running (which is switched on by the MS). Not important just a thought.


ahhh cool! thanks for that


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


i was just reading up on MS2 and electric fan control. rather than buy a thermostatic fan control kit with sensor etc.. i figured there has to be a way that megasquirt can control it being it has the water temp sensor.

and it appears there is a way, although of course im confused, and perhaps the ms guys here could just clarify a little. I read you can use the FIDLE port as a spare port to run the elec fan relay, however as i understand i AM using the FIDLE port for Fast idle which is connected to my IAC on the throttle body. Saying that i have 4 IAC stepper motor ports that are not used, is there a way to use these instead for fan control ?

I saw some screenshots on Tunerstudio where you can set what deg to turn the fan on or off etc.

so just wondering if my hardware would be capable or would i have had to "request" this feature when it was being built? (i have ms2 3.57 i think version and has an extra DB15 male port on the end aswell)

here is what i was last reading re fan control: www.msextra.com/forums...mp;start=0

Also Boost control. I saw this in Tunerstudio but all my reading online points to needing a boost control kit/solenoid and possibly some internal bits... but just to clarify i think it was mentioned that i will be using MAP port on the MS2 via T section in the vaccum line, so as the manifold pressure increases with boost im guessing MS will adjust appopriately .. so there is no need for the boost control setting..

Is my understanding correct? or wrong?


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


looks like the IAC ports are programmable as outputs.. .. as per the screenshot in the above link..

thats soo coool!!!


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
boofhead
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 4505
Location: Brisbane

0 👍 / 0 👎


Indeed use the MSII to drive a relay for the Fan. You do not have a spare relay on the relay board so you will have to wire an extra into you system. You will need a spare port to use (there are a few to pick from) and in most cases a small circuit needs to be built to drive the fan. As your using the prebuild 3.57 board it does not have a proto area so it is not as simple as the 3.0 board though more than do able. The programmable Ports are great and is used to set the temp etc that you have for the fan. You can also have a relay set up to drive the Air conditioning as well. For example, for have full throttle so switch the air conn automatically off.... lots of possibilities.

Your using speed density (MAP) so this determines your fuelling requirements. All you need to do is the modify the map I gave you is to change the upper 2 or three lines to bring air pressure e.g. 100 down a few lines and blend the data around it a little and add in some higher values above it. You do not need to go to much higher as your looking at maximum 8 PSI boost (at the moment - he he). My view - at this stage a boost controller is not required - I would assume you have boost relief valve some where in the system - that is all you need.


I will someday think of something clever to say.

View user's profile
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


boofhead wrote
Indeed use the MSII to drive a relay for the Fan. You do not have a spare relay on the relay board so you will have to wire an extra into you system. You will need a spare port to use (there are a few to pick from) and in most cases a small circuit needs to be built to drive the fan. As your using the prebuild 3.57 board it does not have a proto area so it is not as simple as the 3.0 board though more than do able. The programmable Ports are great and is used to set the temp etc that you have for the fan. You can also have a relay set up to drive the Air conditioning as well. For example, for have full throttle so switch the air conn automatically off.... lots of possibilities.

Your using speed density (MAP) so this determines your fuelling requirements. All you need to do is the modify the map I gave you is to change the upper 2 or three lines to bring air pressure e.g. 100 down a few lines and blend the data around it a little and add in some higher values above it. You do not need to go to much higher as your looking at maximum 8 PSI boost (at the moment - he he). My view - at this stage a boost controller is not required - I would assume you have boost relief valve some where in the system - that is all you need.


that awesome .. thanks boofhead.. i like the idea of the fan and a/c control.. which unfortunately for ME means i have to implement 2 new wires in my plug and route them through the firewall and conduit.. but thats easy enough

Ive heard this "proto" term being used in the forums. what is it or mean?

EDIT: ohh and yes i have the options of a bypass or blowoff valve which i havent installed either one yet until i sort out my air discharge pipe


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
hybrid
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Posts: 8554

0 👍 / 0 👎


You shouldn't need new wires.
You should be able to direct the output through existing wires.

I'm controlling my fan through Microsquirt which is even harder to work on than a 3.57 board and mine is controlling a relay for the fan no problem.


Just looked into mine - Microsquirt doesn't have LEDs built in to the box... it has LED wires. I'm controlling my fan via one of those wires.

You should be able to drive it using one of the IAC wires if you're using fidle.


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


hybrid wrote
You shouldn't need new wires.
You should be able to direct the output through existing wires.

I'm controlling my fan through Microsquirt which is even harder to work on than a 3.57 board and mine is controlling a relay for the fan no problem.


not sure i understand there.. i dont have any wires hooked up to the iac ports on the relay board. Just the FIDle that goes to the throttle body. So i would need to plug some wires in and route them through?

I already have a power wire sitting at the front which is for electric fan (part of the AAW kit) so i just need the trigger wire to come from the relay board (and configure the software to act appropriately) and a relay which i guess ill just mount next to the fan. is that right?


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
hybrid
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Posts: 8554

0 👍 / 0 👎


Sorry I thought you mean adding wires to your MS.

Yes you will need to run a wire from the relay board from whatever output you decide to use - possibly IAC1.

A relay will need somewhere around 30mA to drive. You might just want to check that your IAC output will handle that current.
DIY should be able to tell you.


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


hybrid wrote
Sorry I thought you mean adding wires to your MS.

Yes you will need to run a wire from the relay board from whatever output you decide to use - possibly IAC1.

A relay will need somewhere around 30mA to drive. You might just want to check that your IAC output will handle that current.
DIY should be able to tell you.



ahh ok cool .. yes good point! i will check that with them. thanks!


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
boofhead
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 4505
Location: Brisbane

0 👍 / 0 👎


You have the 4 IAC wires already in the loom to the relay board so they are logical wires to use. They come out as S1,S2,S3,S4. They can be used to drive the relays, e.g S1 = fan, S3 = air, as they can support 0.5 Amp so no extra circuit needed. See.

www.megamanual.com/ms2/spare.htm


I will someday think of something clever to say.

View user's profile
gbx78
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 2933
Location: NSW

0 👍 / 0 👎


boofhead wrote
You have the 4 IAC wires already in the loom to the relay board so they are logical wires to use. They come out as S1,S2,S3,S4. They can be used to drive the relays, e.g S1 = fan, S3 = air, as they can support 0.5 Amp so no extra circuit needed. See.

www.megamanual.com/ms2/spare.htm


yes i just bookmarked this link last night. I was having a read. I assume the trigger wire from the relay board doesnt push alot of current does it? being its just a trigger. I assume the big current draw is at the fan relay with the 12v power wire and ground. The trigger wire is a low current draw to just activate the relay?

i assume this is the same case for the fuel pump scenario, the FP on the relay board is just a trigger wire and the main draw of current is the power supply to the fuel pump relays then to the fuel pump.

is that correct?


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
boofhead
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 4505
Location: Brisbane

0 👍 / 0 👎


Correct - as Hybrid said 30ma low current to drive the relay so it switches the high current side. Same principle in place for fuel pump and FIdle.


I will someday think of something clever to say.

View user's profile
All times are Australia/Sydney
Go to page Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next


Jump to:

TopPostersToday
   123abc 
 Posts: 
 3 

   hybrid 
 Posts: 
 1 

   ants 
 Posts: 
 1 

LatestForumPosts
Last 10 Forum Messages

OVER HEATING AT IDLE
Last post by 123abc in Pre 1973 on Feb 21, 2018 22:20:48

Any interest in a 3000 stall AOD non lock-up converter?
Last post by hybrid in Mustang Parts for Sale on Feb 21, 2018 12:33:33

hybrids 1966 Coupe Project
Last post by hybrid in Mustang Projects on Feb 20, 2018 07:03:39

Camshaft
Last post by trav68 in Pre 1973 on Feb 19, 2018 22:36:53

Finally getting to Mrsozbilt's Mach 1
Last post by nassi in Pre 1973 on Feb 19, 2018 19:59:19

67 FG Resto Mod
Last post by Roger in Mustang Projects on Feb 18, 2018 18:04:00

1970 wiring
Last post by 123abc in Pre 1973 on Feb 17, 2018 08:34:20

1982 RHD Mustang dashboard
Last post by albanygt40 in 1979 - 2014 on Feb 17, 2018 01:04:10

WTD 1979-1984 Fox body mustang
Last post by nassi in Wanted - Mustangs on Feb 16, 2018 23:03:47

Current issue with posting
Last post by Pinto-Pete in Website Help on Feb 13, 2018 22:25:36