Driving a LHD Drive Manual

Participate in this forum before you part with your money
GregC
Baby Mustang
Baby Mustang

Driving a LHD Drive Manual

Post by GregC »

Hi
As you may have seen in other Forums I am looking at purchasing my First Mustang and would like some feedback in the driving a LHD that is also a Manual. A couple of cars that I like are Manual.
I was originally thinking of getting an Auto even though I am a past Manual Driver for a number of years and still occasionally get to drive a Manual. My thought pattern was that it would be too hard to adjust to LHD plus Manual. I know it is only the Gearstick that is different.
Am I being too cautious and would be actually missing out on something. I would appreciate the thoughts of both Manual and Auto LHD Drivers please.
Greg

Living the Dream
hybrid
Mustang King
Mustang King

Re: Driving a LHD Drive Manual

Post by hybrid »

Can't help you with personal experience, but I have heard others say that they actually prefer the feeling of shifting with their right hand.
Foresight
Zebras for hire
Zebras for hire

Post by Foresight »

More control on the gear stick but less control with the left hand while shifting. That is relative to a rhd and is only for the second you are changing gears.

The only problem is visibility when pulling up to an intersection or when overtaking. I have just adjusted my driving style to suit. I pull up perpendicular to intersections instead of starting to turn before I stop. As far as overtaking I just wait for a lane or just cruise behind the car in front and enjoy the ride.

Personally I enjoy it but I can see how some people may not.
Cheers,
Lee & Q
69 428 mach 1 - Guess who...it's Q!
S[_]SPECT
Mustang Maniac
Mustang Maniac

Post by S[_]SPECT »

Depends on driving style...
It doesnt take long to adjust to LHD when driving 'normally' - Although im an auto.
'Spirited' driving takes a bit longer to get used to