- -
UserInfo

Welcome Anonymous




Membership:
Latest: Micks66
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 896

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 1
Bots: 9
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
Visitors:
01. News
 Bots:
01. Forums
02. Forums
03. Home
04. Forums
05. Login
06. Forums
07. News
08. Forums
09. Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
We have received
34216306
page views since
July 27, 2010

Hits New Today: 1446
Hits New Yesterday: 20309

Server Time
18 January 2018 02:11:45 AEDT (GMT +11)
Mustang Technical Discussion > Pre 1973 > Installing an AOD in a 66 > Community Forums > Mustang Forum Australia - Mustang Tech

View posts since last visit ā€¢ View posts last 24 hours ā€¢ View unanswered posts
Forum Index > Pre 1973

Installing an AOD in a 66 Reply to topic

Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


I'm installing an AOD in my 66 Mustang and came across some instructions about clearance between the converter and flexplate that is a little confusing. (Lentech Transmissions) -

'It is recommended that a minimum 0.080", to a maximum 0.150" clearance exist between the convertor mounting pads and flywheel/convertor mating surface. (Measured with convertor fully
installed into transmission) FAILURES RESULTING FROM INSUFFICIENT RUNNING CLEARANCE WILL VOID WARRANTY!'

Is this the minimum freeplay of the converter away from the flexplate before you tighten the converter bolts?

And what do I do with the shifter, will it work with the standard 66 shifter for the time being, I know it only has 3 positions so I don't think it will select first? I'll replace it down the track when I save up. It is the standard little dot/big dot.


Any feedback on Gennie shifters, my mate has one and loves it and they are mechanical rather than the cheap cable type used by Lokar and B&N that play up (from my experience)? Just they are expensive!


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
Nuts
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 31, 2010
Posts: 4211
Location: Can someone send me some of that "Clean" coal for my furnace. My wood has frozen..

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Mate, I have done heaps of these installs. Welcome to contact me and chat or drop around, I'm in Theodore.


My Motto - Don't get Caught! If you do, Blame Someone Else!

MUSTANG - Fantastic Not Plastic

View user's profileSend e-mail
boofhead
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 4500
Location: Brisbane

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Welcome to the forum. Nuts will help you out. In addition, lots of guys here are running them.
So they will pop in at some point.

As far as the factory shift I have a friend who modified his stock selector for a 4 speed auto (BTR in his case) so it can be made to work.


I will someday think of something clever to say.

View user's profile
hybrid
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Posts: 8499

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


The AOD doesn't have 4 positions.
4th gear shifts automatically (hence the name).


View user's profilePhoto Gallery
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


hybrid wrote
The AOD doesn't have 4 positions.
4th gear shifts automatically (hence the name).

Does that mean if I pull the standard shifter back to first it will select 1st on the aod, and 2nd will switch into second? Leave it in drive should give normal auto operation?


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Nuts wrote
Mate, I have done heaps of these installs. Welcome to contact me and chat or drop around, I'm in Theodore.

Thanks for that Nuts, I'm just in Chisholm so I'll contact you if I have any questions.

Do you know if I can buy neoprene engine and gearbox mounts here somewhere or do I have to get them from Summit? The rubber ones are shagged. I'm ordering other bits from Summit already.


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


I'm also selling my 351W if anyone is interested as I'm replacing it with a 408. $2k without performer manifold and 600 carby, $2.5k with. Also have new alloy heads, 218/226 cam, double row timing chain, roller rockers etc for sale separately.


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
Nuts
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 31, 2010
Posts: 4211
Location: Can someone send me some of that "Clean" coal for my furnace. My wood has frozen..

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Edz66Vert wrote
I'm also selling my 351W if anyone is interested as I'm replacing it with a 408. $2k without performer manifold and 600 carby, $2.5k with. Also have new alloy heads, 218/226 cam, double row timing chain, roller rockers etc for sale separately.


We need to talk. My number is 0412440334

Cheers Darryl


My Motto - Don't get Caught! If you do, Blame Someone Else!

MUSTANG - Fantastic Not Plastic

View user's profileSend e-mail
lukep6470
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jan 06, 2014
Posts: 459
Location: Brisbane

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Hi,

You have to get the right flexplate or else the converter will be pushed into the pump on the transmission and possible damage it. I used this one: PIONEER PIFRA-205 Pioneer Heavy-Duty Flexplate 164 Tooth Suit Ford Windsor... That one is a 28oz balance. Before that plate I used one from an FMX on a Cleveland.

The standard shifter will work but you need to adjust the linkage. I have mine setup so I can drop out of OD by flicking the lever towards me without pressing the button.


View user's profile
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


lukep6470 wrote
Hi,

You have to get the right flexplate or else the converter will be pushed into the pump on the transmission and possible damage it. I used this one: PIONEER PIFRA-205 Pioneer Heavy-Duty Flexplate 164 Tooth Suit Ford Windsor... That one is a 28oz balance. Before that plate I used one from an FMX on a Cleveland.

The standard shifter will work but you need to adjust the linkage. I have mine setup so I can drop out of OD by flicking the lever towards me without pressing the button.

Can I use the 351W 164 flexplate or will it be wrong? Has a C6 in it now.


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
lukep6470
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jan 06, 2014
Posts: 459
Location: Brisbane

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


I'm unsure. These guys should have all your answers:

www.clickclickracing.c.../forum.php


View user's profile
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


Anyone know how many splines on the B&M Street performance transmission, I've asked them twice and got no response? I'd like to get a TCE converter rather than have to go with the weaker B&M one.


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

View user's profileSend e-mail
Edz66Vert
Senior Mustang

Offline
Joined: Feb 07, 2017
Posts: 196
Location: Tuggeranong, Canberra, Australia

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


lukep6470 wrote
I'm unsure. These guys should have all your answers:

www.clickclickracing.c.../forum.php

I was on that forum last night after I read on this site that they had a low opinion of B&M built AOD's but when I put B&M and AOD in the search nothing came up. I spent 3 hours reading all their AOD stuff anyway and couldn't find anything on the B&M?

I found this useful info on transmission sizes, showed me I should be able to use my stock tranny mount if it's correct so not sure why they sell modified ones, or are the figures wrong?

Transmission dimensions[i]


66 Convertible 351W; AOD; 9"

Last edited by Edz66Vert on Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:07 pm; edited 1 time in total

View user's profileSend e-mail
lukep6470
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jan 06, 2014
Posts: 459
Location: Brisbane

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


I'm running the B&M and have a ton of miles on it. It uses the stock input and output shaft.

I'm running a 2800rpm converter that is a stock one modified.


View user's profile
lukep6470
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jan 06, 2014
Posts: 459
Location: Brisbane

0 šŸ‘ / 0 šŸ‘Ž


BTW Mine is noisy in 1 & 2nd but doesn't seem to have bothered longevity.


View user's profile
All times are Australia/Sydney
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next


Jump to:

TopPostersToday
   ozbilt 
 Posts: 
 3 

   ACTstanglover 
 Posts: 
 3 

   MNT67 
 Posts: 
 2 

   Ausjacko 
 Posts: 
 2 

   Roger 
 Posts: 
 1 

   Nuts 
 Posts: 
 1 

LatestForumPosts
Last 10 Forum Messages

Years in the making....
Last post by ACTstanglover in Mustang Projects on Jan 17, 2018 23:18:27

Dan Gurney passes away
Last post by ozbilt in Events on Jan 17, 2018 10:40:17

67 FG Resto Mod
Last post by Roger in Mustang Projects on Jan 17, 2018 06:54:24

Husky's 65 Restomod
Last post by Husky65 in Mustang Projects on Jan 16, 2018 19:19:52

Canberra
Last post by Ausjacko in Events on Jan 16, 2018 17:32:16

Jacko's Project
Last post by Ausjacko in Other Projects on Jan 14, 2018 19:58:14

New Heart for Scarlet
Last post by soc123_au in Mustang Projects on Jan 12, 2018 22:29:21

Project Brandy
Last post by ozbilt in Mustang Projects on Jan 12, 2018 12:37:51

Mustangtech Bathurst Clubhouse...
Last post by rkmiller73 in Mustang Projects on Jan 12, 2018 05:01:40

Scarlet
Last post by hybrid in Mustang Projects on Jan 10, 2018 11:43:31

SocialMedia

Like this page? Google +1 it!