- -
UserInfo

Welcome Anonymous




Membership:
Latest: v8ford70
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 890

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 0
Bots: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Bots:
01. Forums
02. Forums
03. Forums
04. News
05. Forums
06. Home
07. Forums
08. Forums
09. Forums
10. Statistics

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
We have received
33628457
page views since
July 27, 2010

Hits New Today: 1189
Hits New Yesterday: 17225

Server Time
17 December 2017 01:35:46 AEDT (GMT +11)
Mustang Technical Discussion > Mustang Projects > Project Pheonix > Community Forums > Mustang Forum Australia - Mustang Tech

View posts since last visit • View posts last 24 hours • View unanswered posts
Forum Index > Mustang Projects

Project Pheonix Reply to topic

Go to page Previous 1, 2, 3 … 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 24
Author Message
Husky65
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Posts: 556
Location: sydney

0 👍 / 0 👎


Pm aren't working so I'll put it here.

I know with the EF/EL, the speedo goes to the instrument cluster first, then to the ecu. I'm assuming it's probably similar with the AU. I didn't do that wiring myself on my loom, however, I believe the instrument cluster applies also applies the voltage to the power wire of the sensor.

The sender has has 3 wires, power, ground and signal I believe the guy who did my loom just gave the power wire 12v off ignition. The signal wire comes straight back to a plug I added under the dash near the ecu. From that plug, that wire splits into two, with one going to the speedo, and one going to the ecu. I had to add a 10k pullup resistor to the signal wire at the speedo though, as the signal was quite weak(i am pretty sure the stock cluster does this also before it goes to the ecu), and my speedo wouldn't recognize the pulses until i added the pullup resistor.

I actually have my speedo input to the ecu disconnected, as I found that it would hold the rpm's for a second or two when I came to a stop or clutch in, which I didn't like. With it disconnected that went away. You need it connected with your auto box though.

What speedo are you using?


Last edited by Husky65 on Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:28 pm; edited 1 time in total

View user's profileSend e-mail
66STNG
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Posts: 531
Location: wollongong

0 👍 / 0 👎


Might through this out to the crowd.
Ok, the speed sensor does have 3 wires and conects up to the main harness and then goes to the ecu, there is a white wire from pin 58 which says vehicle speed sensor but it's an input so it can't just go to the speedo. The AU may be different in that you don't need the body module to run the transmission??

There is a clean tachometer output of the ecu which I assume goes straight to the tacho, but I can't figure how the speedo gets its signal.
If anyone wants to chime in it would be a help, as husky has explained it but I'm still not sure how to actually wire the speedo up...
Cheers


66 basket case

View user's profileSend e-mail
hybrid
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Posts: 8421

0 👍 / 0 👎


Husky65 wrote
Pm aren't working so I'll put it here.

I know with the EF/EL, the speedo goes to the instrument cluster first, then to the ecu. I'm assuming it's probably similar with the AU. I didn't do that wiring myself on my loom, however, I believe the instrument cluster applies also applies the voltage to the power wire of the sensor.

The sender has has 3 wires, power, ground and signal I believe the guy who did my loom just gave the power wire 12v off ignition. The signal wire comes straight back to a plug I added under the dash near the ecu. From that plug, that wire splits into two, with one going to the speedo, and one going to the ecu. I had to add a 10k pullup resistor to the signal wire at the speedo though, as the signal was quite weak(i am pretty sure the stock cluster does this also before it goes to the ecu), and my speedo wouldn't recognize the pulses until i added the pullup resistor.

I actually have my speedo input to the ecu disconnected, as I found that it would hold the rpm's for a second or two when I came to a stop or clutch in, which I didn't like. With it disconnected that went away. You need it connected with your auto box though.

What speedo are you using?


Why do you say PM's aren't working?
Are you getting some error message?

See this:
www.mustangtech.com.au...=4279.html


Last edited by hybrid on Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:20 am; edited 1 time in total

View user's profilePhoto Gallery
Husky65
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Posts: 556
Location: sydney

0 👍 / 0 👎


hybrid wrote
Husky65 wrote
Pm aren't working so I'll put it here.

I know with the EF/EL, the speedo goes to the instrument cluster first, then to the ecu. I'm assuming it's probably similar with the AU. I didn't do that wiring myself on my loom, however, I believe the instrument cluster applies also applies the voltage to the power wire of the sensor.

The sender has has 3 wires, power, ground and signal I believe the guy who did my loom just gave the power wire 12v off ignition. The signal wire comes straight back to a plug I added under the dash near the ecu. From that plug, that wire splits into two, with one going to the speedo, and one going to the ecu. I had to add a 10k pullup resistor to the signal wire at the speedo though, as the signal was quite weak(i am pretty sure the stock cluster does this also before it goes to the ecu), and my speedo wouldn't recognize the pulses until i added the pullup resistor.

I actually have my speedo input to the ecu disconnected, as I found that it would hold the rpm's for a second or two when I came to a stop or clutch in, which I didn't like. With it disconnected that went away. You need it connected with your auto box though.

What speedo are you using?


Why do you say PM's aren't working?
Are you getting some error message?

See this:
www.mustangtech.com.au...=4279.html


My bad I saw it was sitting in my outbox, thought it wouldn't send. That link cleared it up for me Smile


View user's profileSend e-mail
66STNG
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Posts: 531
Location: wollongong

0 👍 / 0 👎


C' mon where are the techo guys out there. Need some advice wiring diagram to wire my electronic gauges. Using the stock ecu and stock senders. Ford workshop manuals are useless.


66 basket case

View user's profileSend e-mail
Husky65
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Posts: 556
Location: sydney

0 👍 / 0 👎


There is not much info on the australian eec's, even on the net, so it's pretty hard.

The speedo sensor has 3 wires, being voltage in, ground, and signal out.
I am just not sure of the voltage in is 12v or 5v. It is normally supplied by the dash cluster. If you ask Pete at Petes custom wiring he should know as he did mine.

Or, if you gauge has a programmable speedo input, just get a gps speedo sender and be done with it.


View user's profileSend e-mail
Husky65
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Posts: 556
Location: sydney

0 👍 / 0 👎


Actually ignore the last about the gps sender, you are running an auto ecu, which needs the correct speedo signal input.

Do you love old ford tech Poop Hit Fan


View user's profileSend e-mail
66STNG
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Posts: 531
Location: wollongong

0 👍 / 0 👎


I belled some wires out today and found that they don't go from the speed sensor to the ecu, they go to another connection that would have gone to the dash cluster. But it still doesn't help me because I'm not sure what voltage to put on it, if it requires another driver or some resistance. I really need a detailed wiring diagram.


66 basket case

View user's profileSend e-mail
66STNG
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Posts: 531
Location: wollongong

0 👍 / 0 👎


Quick up date.
Old seat risers out new ones in, gives me another 2" to lower the seats.






Completed, and seam sealeed


66 basket case

Last edited by 66STNG on Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:53 pm; edited 1 time in total

View user's profileSend e-mail
66STNG
Mustang Star

Offline
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Posts: 531
Location: wollongong

0 👍 / 0 👎


Finally soughted the dash cluster,
Electronic, programable speedo. The red button is to toggle between trip settings, alarm speeds ect, not sure whether to drill a hole in the bezel or hide the button. The three wires are for the speed sensor,



66 basket case

View user's profileSend e-mail
Nuts
Mustang King

Offline
Joined: Jul 31, 2010
Posts: 4200
Location: Can someone send me some of that "Clean" coal for my furnace. My wood has frozen..

0 👍 / 0 👎


Nice Work!


My Motto - Don't get Caught! If you do, Blame Someone Else!

MUSTANG - Fantastic Not Plastic

View user's profileSend e-mail
All times are Australia/Sydney
Go to page Previous 1, 2, 3 … 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 24


Jump to:

TopPostersToday
   Husky65 
 Posts: 
 2 

   ozbilt 
 Posts: 
 2 

   cage 
 Posts: 
 2 

   rkmiller73 
 Posts: 
 1 

   nassi 
 Posts: 
 1 

   scedd 
 Posts: 
 1 

ComingEvents
Mon Dec 25, 2017
Event Christmas Day
 
LatestForumPosts
Last 10 Forum Messages

Mustangtech Bathurst Clubhouse...
Last post by cage in Mustang Projects on Dec 16, 2017 11:39:59

Project Brandy
Last post by cage in Mustang Projects on Dec 15, 2017 16:14:55

CJ pony parts clearance
Last post by lukep6470 in Mustang Projects on Dec 15, 2017 12:05:48

Years in the making....
Last post by MNT67 in Mustang Projects on Dec 14, 2017 22:37:11

Ronin187 - pics as promised
Last post by Ronin187 in Mustang Projects on Dec 14, 2017 20:19:27

OVER HEATING AT IDLE
Last post by 123abc in Pre 1973 on Dec 14, 2017 16:08:29

Jacko's Project
Last post by rkmiller73 in Other Projects on Dec 14, 2017 06:19:55

Mile stone (for me anyway)
Last post by MustangMedic in Events on Dec 13, 2017 06:00:53

Husky's 65 Restomod
Last post by Husky65 in Mustang Projects on Dec 11, 2017 20:03:58

Free - Procomp 302 Windsor 6L sump
Last post by lukep6470 in Mustang Parts for Sale on Dec 11, 2017 12:23:22

SocialMedia

Like this page? Google +1 it!